• 63°

Graduation 2019: Gray Stone Day School senior plans 2019

Appalachian State University: Trey Allen, Brennan Bailey, Lilley Brookshire, Gracey Dunn, Jordan Loflin, Matthew Mork, Ava Sangster, Savannah Smith, Carson Sperber, Gracie Stinnett.

Belmont Abbey College: Lauren Denhard.

Campbell University: Dylan Barkley, Marshall Dennis, Mariah Helms.

Catawba College: DeeAnnah Brantley, Bailey Hunter.

Central Piedmont Community College: Alexa Cranford, Karlie Griffin, Ayah Hajjar, William Marino, Hunter Smith.

College at Southeastern: Ava Riedel.

College of Charleston: Anna Claire Garrow.

Duke University: Alexa Bolin-Santiago.

East Carolina University: Claire Abercrombie, Donovan Bernard, Hardev Bhatt, Danielle Dorko, Summer Efird, Jack Foley, Zack Norman, Hadik Patel, Aditya Suresh, Luke Thomas, Camron Prince.

Elon University: Jamie Barfield.

Erskine College: Mattie Burris, Riley Ritchie.

Fairleigh Dickinson University: Katherine Leckonby.

Gap year: Abby Buechler.

Hampden-Sydney College: Samuel Garifo.

High Point University: Bonnie Shofety.

Hollins University: Natalie Garner.

Lenoir-Rhyne University: Reilly Ploplis.

Liberty University: Madison Hatley, Anna Rose Kessinger.

Mars Hill University: Anna Claire Ingram.

Meredith College: Reagan Scout Burch, Zoe Matney.

Mississippi State University: Olivia Porter.

North Carolina State University: Lillie Austin, Emery Culp, Sarah Roane.

Pfeiffer University: Ashley Burris, Lucie Featherstone, Joshua Hartsell, Louisa-Kathleen Parrish, Jack Rummage.

Presbyterian University: Peyton Hatley.

Rowan-Cabarrus Community College: Gavin Fleming, Samantha Fraley, Gavin Lutz, Carrie Morgan, Hannah Ritchie, Jantzen Weathers.

Salem College: Taylor Riedel.

Sandhills Community College: Christen Clontz, Noah Maness.

Stanly Community College: Joann Aldridge, Danielle Cruz, Emily Griffin, Amanda Howell, Christopher Johnson, Anthony Viscomi.

The Citadel: Dylan Tuzenew.

University of North Carolina at Asheville: Rhianna Weavil.

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill: Kevin Agner, Alex McDow, Monica Rivell, Arsha Sharma, Rohan Sharma, Mary Streble, Natalie Yehle.

University of North Carolina at Charlotte: Kayla Blaisure, Mary Eudy, Grace Huneycutt, Jason Mathews, Charles Palian, Kathryn VanHorn.

University of North Carolina at Greensboro: Joseph Clark, Jenna Lerch, Caroline Moser.

University of North Carolina at Pembroke: Cyan Vang, Destiny Whitley.

University of North Carolina at Wilmington: Bella Dobbins, William Haywood, Anna Morgan.

University of South Carolina: Lee Boone, Kynsay Hunt, Aidan McConkey.

University of Tennessee: Jillian Scardina.

Virginia Tech: Hunter Cutting.

Western Carolina University: Maris Rader.

Wingate University: Devin Snead.



Man killed by deputy recalled as storyteller, jokester


Rowan’s Sen. Ford backs ‘Election Integrity Act’ to move up absentee ballot deadlines


Salisbury earns ranking on national list of best small cities to start a business


Supreme Court makes it easier to give minors convicted of murder a life sentence


Quotes of the week


Salisbury Human Relations Council offering online Racial Wealth Gap Simulation


Bill seeking permanent daylight saving clears NC House


Friends describe Elizabeth City man killed by deputy


With second hobbit house now complete, Cherry Treesort looks toward future expansion


Catawba Sports: 2021 Hall of Fame class announced


Supreme Court makes it easier to sentence minors convicted of murder to life in prison


Overton dedicates tree to longtime volunteer Leon Zimmerman


First dose COVID-19 vaccinations up to 24% in Rowan County


Blotter: April 22


Lawsuit: Salisbury Police, Rowan Sheriff’s Office tore woman’s shoulder during traffic stop


‘Believe me, they’ll be fresh’: Patterson Farm welcomes strawberry crop


City appoints more members to boards, commissions, with 9 seats left to be filled


Virtual play groups the new norm at Smart Start


City meets in closed session to consult with attorney on two ongoing litigation cases


Summit takes art out of the classroom, into the student’s home


Education briefs: Gene Haas Foundation donates $12,500 to RCCC


County’s restaurant grant program dishes out funding to eight local eateries

High School

High school football: Yow out as South head coach